Marshmallow Mondays


Can You Spare 60 Minutes?
10.26.09, 12:05 PM
Filed under: Family, Reading | Tags: , , , ,

With only one week left of Daylight Savings Time, many of us are looking forward to that extra hour of sleep.  Other than catching some extra zzz’s, ever think about doing something productive with the 60 minutes? 

My favorite read of the day,  DailyCandy.com,  (all things fun, fashionable, food-related & culturally stimulating all over the web) has an idea for you.  To highlight the end of Daylight Savings Time, DailyCandy has teamed up with Frigidaire to offer a challenge that helps benefits the kids.  When you reveal how you’ll spend your extra hour with a child, Frigidaire will donate $1 to Save the Children’s U.S. Programs.  As a bonus, sharing your story enters you to win a special Frigidaire prize.  To learn more about Save The Children and to share how you’ll spend your extra hour, visit make-time-for-change.com. 

I chose to post this contest not because I want to promote Frigidaire, but because it’s an excellent opportunity to start reading to a child.  Rydan and I only started reading a nightly bedtime story about two months ago, but you’d think we’d been doing it for years.  Almost instantaneously, he created his own routine centered around whatever book he chooses each night.  It goes something like this, beginning around 7pm each night:  bath time, snack, tv, “I’m ready for bed,” bedtime story, goodnight xoxo’s from Ryan and I, and finally he dozes off to a movie to end his day.  Rarely does he waiver much from this sequence.  In fact, a few weeks ago he showed me how much he counts on that book every night.  Ryan and I took him to his first Phillies game and didn’t get home until after 11pm.  The little guy, of course, fell asleep on the drive home.  I guided my sleepy Marshmallow up to bed and tucked him in, turned the light out and began to walk away.  When he started to cry, I turned around and asked him what was wrong.  His teary response was “you didn’t read to me.”  So at 11:30pm, the light went back on, and between yawns I read Cloudy With A Chance of Meatballs to him. 

I truly believe that despite how it sometimes can seem, kids do crave structure.  They like to know what comes next, and there are things that they want and need to count on each day.  Our nightly bedtime routine provides him with that comfort as well as all of the wonderful benefits of reading to a child.  It stimulates their brain, strengthens their imagination, broadens their vocabulary, makes them smile, and reminds them what being a kid is all about… living in the moment and having the time of their lives. 

So, rather than take that extra hour of sleep, give it to your children instead.  Read a book, start a routine and watch them light up.  Before long, they’ll be reciting the words along with you, and you’ll be amazed at their appreciation for your time.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Good stuff Bridg!! I had no idea what this was when you sent it, but it has now been added to my Monday “must read” category.

Hope all is well!

Rob

Comment by Rob

Hey Bridgit… After I caught up with my busy life, I had a chance to check in with Marshmallow Mondays. I want you to know that I’m so proud of you and am really enjoying your stories and perspectives. Just so you know~ you made me cry with your story about Rydan. Rather than a typical step-mom, you have made yourself a bonus super-hero in his life that he is so lucky to have!!

Love you!
Nicole

Comment by Nicole

So glad to see you joining the internet age so that I can keep track of you and read your great work!

Comment by Addie

I am very glad that your Marshmallow has such a smart and sweet extra Mom.

Reading and loving it will help him in so many ways in both his school days and life in general.

I have always loved to read more than I even love to eat or breathe and from when she was 6 months old, I always read to my oldest, who then learned to read early and could later read to her baby brother, who in turn down the line read to his baby sister!

ALL three of my kids are like me in that respect, they love to read, always read at way above their age and grade levels AND now my oldest daughter has continued this with my first grand daughter, my Princess, who ALSO loves to “read” and at almost four can pick out a lot of words she has seen in her books and “reads” to her dolls and her 6 month old brother.

Comment by Jan Tallent

What a wonderful place you are creating here, Bridgit!
It’s just delicious…

Kat

Comment by katquest




Leave a Reply

