Marshmallow Mondays


Resolve To Use Your Imagination
01.04.10, 12:58 PM
Filed under: Holidays | Tags: , , , ,

In light of 2010, I stumbled upon a New Year’s Day poem that I thought was worth sharing.  The poem is from a child’s perspective, and it clearly demonstrates the imaginative nature of a child’s mind.  I couldn’t help but think of Rydan as I read this poem. 

Hooray! Hooray! It’s New Year’s Day

Hooray! Hooray! It’s New Year’s Day!
The day we start anew.
So this year I’ve decided
To become a kangaroo!

Or maybe I will learn to fly,
Or how to walk through walls,
Or how to turn invisible,
Or surf on waterfalls.

I’ll make myself elastic
And I’ll teach myself to shrink.
I’ll turn into a liquid
And I’ll pour me down the sink.

I’ll visit other planets
And meet aliens galore.
I’ll travel to the distant past
And ride a dinosaur.

I’ve got so many wondrous plans.
I’m starting right away.
Yes, this will be the best year yet.
Hooray! It’s New Year’s Day!

– By Kenn Nesbitt

As for me, I’ve never been one to make resolutions.  In my opinion, any time is a good time to make a change in your life.  In fact, I tend to agree with the child’s voice in this poem.  The voice is saying to simply have the time of your life every day.  Do something today that you haven’t done before. 

I truly believe that kids are a special kind of genius.  As adults, our conversations typically do not involve words of nonsense.  Childrens’ conversations are filled with silliness.  Adults don’t play make-believe to the point where we actually see our imagination.  Children do.  Every time Rydan says something silly or I watch him go off into his superhero world, it makes me appreciate his mind that much more.  It’s that creativity and belief in himself that will one day allow him to sore as far and high as his heart desires. 

Think about what the world would be like if adults walked around pretending to be their favorite superhero, or danced down the street to the music inside their head.  I once watched Rydan wear his Spiderman mask as he pretended to shoot webs while walking down Chocolate Avenue in Hershey.  He didn’t show an ounce of embarrassment or take notice to the onlookers giggling at him, but I’m willing to bet that he made their day. 

I know this because when I play with Rydan and he takes me along to his imaginary world of superpowers and sound effects, it erases every other thought that was on my mind.  For a brief moment of time, I’m reminded of how refreshing creative thinking can be for the soul.  Sometimes, it doesn’t hurt to think like a kid. 

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I have often thought that adults should be more like kids and live in the moment. We tend to forget the joy, simplicity and fun of exploring, finding and seeing new things. Life gets in the way but really, living in the moment is life at its fullest.

Thanks for the reminder.

Jeanne

Comment by Jeanne




Leave a Reply

