Marshmallow Mondays


Something For Your Recipe Book

As much as Rydan and I like to read, we also like to cook.  Outside of children’s books and my Sophie Kinsella novels, recipes books are my next favorite when it comes to a good read.  Rydan is always a big help when it comes to cooking and baking.  He is particularly good at being the “dumper” and the “taste-tester.” 

This summer, he’s been learning more about the importance of buying locally home-grown produce from stands and markets.  We’ve been enjoying lots of watermelon, homemade jellies, cantaloupes, strawberries, and the occasional home-baked treat including one enormous whoopie pie and some yummy apple dumplings, all from great little markets within minutes from our house. 

I can also proudly say that I’ve been successfully growing my own tomatoes (thank you, Dad!) this summer.  Though I can’t say that I’ve ventured much further than that when it comes to gardening, I have gained a greater appreciation for home grown fruits and veggies. 

So, when my mom recently gave me two GIGANTIC zucchinis from her own garden, I couldn’t let them go to waste.  However, I’ll be honest – I am not a big fan of cooked zucchini.  Ryan and Rydan aren’t either, so I browsed my recipe books for a zucchini bread recipe and came up with my own revised version.  Knowing that my apple pie and apple crisp recipes are two favorite desserts in our house, I had high hopes that if I added apple to zucchini bread, the boys would be more inclined to eat it.  I was right.  Rydan and I have made this recipe twice now, and both he and Ryan have enjoyed it much more than I ever would have guessed.  Yesterday was our second round at this recipe, so we thought we would share it with the readers of Marshmallow Mondays.  From our recipe book to yours, here it is:

ZUCCHINI APPLE BREAD

Ingredients:  2 eggs (beaten), 1 and 1/3 c. sugar, 2 tsp. vanilla, 3 c. grated zucchini, 2/3 c. melted butter, 2 tsp. baking soda, pinch of salt, 3 c. flour, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, 2 tsp. cinnamon, chopped apple (as much as you like)

Directions:  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  In a large bowl, stir together the sugar, eggs, and vanilla. Stir in the grated zucchini and then the melted butter. Add baking soda and salt and stir well.  Add the flour, a cup at a time, stirring after each cup.  Sprinkle in the cinnamon and nutmeg and stir together.  Fold in chopped apple.

Divide the batter equally between 2 buttered 5 x 9 inch loaf pans. Bake loaves for 1 hour or until a wooden pick inserted into the center comes out clean. Cool in pans for 10 minutes. Turn out onto wire racks to cool completely.

* * * Rydan’s Variation * * *  Pour half of the batter into 1 buttered 5 x 9 inch loaf pan.  Follow directions above.  Add dried cranberries to the other half of the batter and stir well.  Pour into a muffin pan and bake for 30-35 minutes.  Cool in pan for 10 minutes and then turn out onto a wire rack to cool completely.  Makes approximately 6 large Apple Cranberry Muffins (or 1 dozen small muffins).

To eat like Rydan, warm your muffin in the microwave and spread with butter!

Before I close for today, I feel obligated to say that this post was inspired by one of my favorite blogs to read daily – Cooking With My Kid.  Though I am nowhere near as talented or ambitious in the kitchen as this mother, I love that there is another mom out there with a blog dedicated to the special way she bonds with her son.  Rydan and I will definitely stick with books as our specialty, but perhaps we’ll dedicate one “Marshmallow Monday” a month to sharing a favorite recipe from our own recipe book.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This is a very special Monday! Marshmallow Brother! Love to you, Ryan, Rydan and Lily. xoxo

Comment by Kim

Thanks for the blog love! Can’t wait to read more about your adventures.

Comment by rebecca




Leave a Reply

