Marshmallow Mondays


Karate Kid
03.05.12, 8:04 AM
Filed under: The Buffington Southern Experience | Tags: ,

Before I begin today’s post, I want to say a huge thank you to all of our friends and family in Pennsylvania for your thoughts and prayers during last week’s tornadoes in Kentucky.  We are all safe and sound, and very lucky compared to those in other parts of the state. The damage is truly devastating, so please continue to keep those who have been affected by the tornadoes in your prayers. 

Onto today’s post…

It’s been a little over a month since Rydan started karate lessons, and he has already learned so much.  After receiving his third focus stripe two weeks ago, he had the privilege of breaking a piece of wood.  What a big moment!  As I watched him prepare, my heart thumped a bit wondering if he’d break it on his first try or if it would hurt his foot.  All eyes were on Rydan as his fellow students counted down to the big kick.  Just like that, I heard a simultaneous “AAiiiiii!” and the snapping of the wood.  Students and parents cheered as Rydan proudly brought me his broken piece of wood.

A lot of you have been asking to see photos of Rydan at karate, so here you go.  They aren’t my usual high quality photos, because they were taken with my iphone and Lily on my lap, instead of with our nice expensive camera.  One of these days I’ll take better ones, but for now this should give you a taste of our karate kid in action.

Receiving his fourth Taekwondo stripe this past weekend for working harder than everyone else on his form.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Rydan – you are so awesome! I would LOVE to learn a few moves, will you teach me? I’ll put it on my B. S. E. list of things to see/do.

Hiiii-yAh! :o!

Comment by Kim




Leave a Reply

