Marshmallow Mondays


Race To Read

Personally, this may have been the most exciting day I’ve had since moving to Lexington…

On Saturday morning, I participated in Race To Read, which was my first ever 5K run.  It was a slightly cold morning with a few hills to tackle, but with Ryan, Rydan and Lily there to support me, my goal was to finish in under 30 minutes.  As I crossed the finish line, I saw my three biggest fans waiting for me and gave myself an extra push.  Rydan was right there to give me a high five, and Lily was anxious for a hug.  As we watched the awards ceremony, I was shocked to hear my name called as the third finishing female!  I had finished with a time of 25:41, which I was extremely happy with considering that the first place male finished in 22 minutes.  As I walked up front, the lady placed my medal around Lily’s neck.  What a great moment!  Thank you, Ryan, Rydan and Lily for cheering me on!  Nothing beats making the three of you proud, especially when it’s in honor of such an important cause, and one that is very close to my heart.

Race To Read benefits The Reading Camp, whose mission is to take the imitimidation out of reading by making it fun and providing children with an encouraging environment.  I couldn’t think of a better organization to support in my first 5K!

Pre-Race

Runners ready to take off.

Approaching the Finish Line.

So caught off guard when I heard my name called.

Yay Mommy!

If you’d like to help out a child at Reading Camp, simply click here to make a donation.  Note that Reading Camp does not charge a fee to its campers.  Because they provide this program at no cost to families, your donation will go directly towards helping a child attend Reading Camp.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hey, Bridgit,

CONGRATULATIONS!! You couldn’t have run for a nobler cause.

Rev. Fordon

Comment by Rev. John Fordon

Way to go Aunt Bridgit!!!! We are so proud of you.

Comment by Jill McAllister

Congratulations Bridgit!!! First 5K and 3rd female to finish!!! You rock! I don’t think we could be any prouder.

Next challenge: Run to Seattle! xo

Comment by notthatkimholland

great job bridge! keep it going and showing your brother how its done and when your done with the seattle run you can run to hegins Ha !
love dad

Comment by chris wiest

What a great accomplishment! I am so happy for you B! Love ya!

Comment by Amanda




Leave a Reply

