Marshmallow Mondays


Another Race & A Birthday Wish

Keeneland, Round 2.

You may recall that my last 5K Run at Keeneland was at 4pm on an extremely hot day, and therefore I was simply glad to finish without walking.  My time wasn’t terrible, but definitely not my best.  This past Saturday I went up against Keeneland again for the Run For Recovery 5K, hosted by the Shepherd’s House

Crossing the finish line with a new personal best of 24:26 was so exciting, but as we stood to watch the awards ceremony I soon learned that I was the first place finishing female in the 30-35 age category.  What an accomplishment for me!

Once again, I had my three biggest fans to support, encourage and cheer me on.  With each 5K I’ve done, I always look forward to seeing them on the sidelines as I approach the finish line.  This time was no different, and when I saw the time clock and realized I had just beaten my best time, I felt even more proud knowing that Ryan, Rydan and Lily were there to experience that moment with me.  I love you all so much! 

Pre-Race.

Starting Line.

Approaching the Finish Line.

Post-Race with my two little fans.

Speaking of my little fans, one of them has a birthday today!  Rydan, I hope you enjoy your day of  fun surprises!  Now at 8 years old, your imagination is stronger than ever, your smile bigger than ever, and your ability to have the time of your life every day is better than ever.  In the past year I have watched you bravely and eagerly step foot inside of a new school, waste no time making new friends, learn Taekwondo and successfully complete two belt tests, all with a smile on your face.  I am so proud of you, Marshmallow Man, and can’t wait to see what lies ahead for you as you embark on another year of new experiences.  Always know that I am here for you every step of the way – to celebrate every moment, no matter how big or small, and to help you learn from everything that life brings your way.  My world is a better place because you’re in it.  HAPPY 8TH BIRTHDAY!

To my readers, please look forward to next week’s post, which will recap Rydan and Lily’s first birthday bash in Kentucky! (to be held on 8/4).

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Happy birthday to Rydan! Hope next week’s blog contains a pic of the Geico Insurance mascot!

Comment by Tori

Isn’t it so weird to be in the “30-35” category now? 😉

Comment by Addie Manis (@AdicaRoy)

WHEW HEW! That’s my Bula! Happy birthday Rydan!

Comment by val wiest




Leave a Reply

