Marshmallow Mondays


29 oz of Pumpkin
08.27.12, 8:32 AM
Filed under: Recipes | Tags: , , , , ,

If you love all things pumpkin-flavored, then this post is for you.

With school back in session and the weather feeling a little more fall-like, I pulled a 29-ounce can of pumpkin from our pantry and decided to see how many recipes I could get out of it.

Here are the results.  Recipes can be found by clicking on the recipe name or photo.

Baked Pumpkin Spice Donut Holes (or “dough-dough’s” as Lily called them).

These were gone after about two days.  They were extremely easy to make, and were especially tasty just out of the oven.  I will say that they should be eaten within a day or two.  Since they’re dipped in the melted butter, they get kind of a wet coating if not eaten.

Baked Pumpkin Oatmeal

Lily and I like to eat these oatmeal squares for breakfast.  Topped with a little brown sugar and dried cranberries, and they’re perfect with my morning coffee.  I still have some in the freezer, which only take overnight to defrost in the refrigerator, so they’re ready for breakfast the next day.  Just pop them in the microwave for a few seconds and top with brown sugar and cranberries.  WARNING:  These are by no means sweet.  You definitely need the brown sugar.

Pumpkin Granola

I’ve always wanted to try to make my own granola, and it is surprisingly much easier than I thought.  I tossed the end result with a few dried cranberries and ate it over top of plain nonfat yogurt or honey greek yogurt.  You could also add some almonds or other type of dried fruit.

Turkey White Bean Pumpkin Chili

I had my doubts about my family liking this one, but that doubt was quickly erased when Rydan and Ryan both went for seconds.  The pumpkin flavor is definitely not as noticeable in this recipe as the other three, but it gives the chili a really nice orange fall color, and combined with the other flavors, it just tasted really good.  Top it with your favorite shredded cheese and enjoy!  Leftovers were even better.  Lily ate them for lunch three days in a row.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Yuuuum! I am book-marking, especially the baked oatmeal. Is it cool enough in Lexington now to turn the oven on?

Comment by Addie Manis (@AdicaRoy)




Leave a Reply

