Marshmallow Mondays


Dancer

I have quite a little dancer on my hands.  For as long as I can remember, Lily has always loved music.  It began with her watching kid-friendly animated videos on YouTube from Barefoot Books when she was 8 months old.  She would sit for an entire hour sometimes with her eyes fixed on the screen.  It seemed the second she started walking, she began dancing too.  Now at two years old, she loves to watch the Countdown on VH1 every Saturday.  She has special adoration for Train’s “Drive By,” as well as Carly Rae Jepsen’s “Call Me Maybe.”  Nothing makes me smile more than seeing the look on her face when she hears these songs and begins to sing along and dance.  She and Rydan have developed their own dance moves too, which they do while sitting in the back seat of the car.  Moves include “the push,” “the mixer,” and the “Louie Louie.”  She also loves to open the music app on my iPhone and flip through the songs until she finds one that she can groove to.  There are times when she is totally immersed in playing with something, but the second she hears any type of beat from the television, she smiles and does a little shimmy or swaying of her hips.  It cracks me up.

So, when I found out about a FREE Mommy & Me Dance Class offered this fall at the Lexington Dance Factory, I didn’t have to think twice about taking Lily.  My mom started me in dance classes at the age of 4, and I danced all the way through high school.  It’s something I always wish I would have continued doing, so I am over the moon excited about this class.

We had our first one on Thursday.  Lily was a little shy at first, but went through all of the movements with her hand in mine for the entire 30 minutes.  She made her little legs move like a butterfly, she reached for her toes, slithered like a snake, danced with a wand, shook some maracas, and danced to Five Little Monkeys Jumping On The Bed.  At the end of the class, she put her maracas away, got in line for her sticker, looked up at me with her hands in the air and said “Mommy, do? do?” Translation: “What are we doing next?”

On Saturday we went to our second class.  Lily is still a bit timid, but I think after a few classes she’ll be just fine.  She gets very excited to go, and always shows Daddy what she learned when she gets home.

I LOVE being in a dance studio.  I hadn’t been in one since I was 18 years old, and I just couldn’t get enough of it.  Seeing all those little girls in their tights and leotards reminded me how much I adored dance as a child, and how much fun it was to teach the little ones when I got older.  I couldn’t help but be a little envious of the young girls teaching the class.  No matter what changes I went through growing up, dance was always there.  The barre, the mirrors, the mats, the music, the hardwood floors – none of it ever changed.  I can only hope that as Lily grows up, she finds the same comfort, confidence, joy and sense of peace that I found when I danced.

At home before class. I’m not sure what this conversation was about…

After class – enjoying a snack and showing off her sticker.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Bula, I don’t think you could wipe the smile from my face all day long. Seeing Lily in her dance outfit reminded me of you when you were small.

Comment by val wiest




Leave a Reply

