Marshmallow Mondays


Pumpkin Part II
11.05.12, 7:26 AM
Filed under: Recipes | Tags: , , , , ,

Now that we are well into the Fall season, we haven’t had as many nice days to play outside.  For Lily and I, that means a lot of laundry and a lot of time in the kitchen.  My little girl loves to help me bake, so we’ve been experimenting with more new pumpkin recipes. I had quite a few emails after my 29 oz of Pumpkin post a few weeks ago, so here is part two!

Recipes can be found by clicking on the recipe name or photo.

Pumpkin Magic Bars

These are at the top of my list for a reason.  Super easy and fun to make, I challenge you to eat just one of these at a time.  I LOVED the shredded apple mixed in because it added just the right amount of sweetness as well as some really great texture.  These would be a nice addition to your Thanksgiving dessert table because they’re different, but still offer that classic pumpkin pie flavor.  I did leave out the coconut because I’m not the biggest fan, but it would look really pretty sprinkled on top and add even more texture.

Pumpkin Spice Chocolate Chip Cookies

Four words:  The. Perfect. Fall. Cookie. And, they’re low-fat!  These are so easy to make, don’t have a lot of complicated ingredients, and you don’t have to feel extremely guilty about eating them.  I was pleasantly surprised at how flavorful and soft they were.  I don’t like my cookies flat, which sometimes can happen with the wrong recipe.  These will not disappoint you!  They puffed up so nicely in the oven and didn’t flatten out when they cooled.  Definitely my favorite choice if I’m in a cookie mood right now.

Pumpkin Cream Cheese

I needed to use up some leftover pumpkin, and when I realized I had some low-fat cream cheese in the refrigerator, I quickly googled “Pumpkin Cream Cheese.”  There were a ton of results, but I ended up choosing this recipe because it called for exactly the amount of pumpkin that I had leftover.  I really enjoyed it on either a whole wheat bagel or on a honey whole wheat English muffin.  Definitely would make it again.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Who doesn’t love a good whoopie pie?  They remind me of summertime Tuesday visit to Root’s Market in PA.  I always managed to come home with everybody’s favorite flavor whoopie pie from the Amish.  I really like this pumkin whoopie pie recipe because the method of piping the batter through a plastic bag worked really well for me and made it easier to ensure that all of the pie halves were the same size. I did use a different recipe for the filling, which included cream cheese, marshmallow cream, cool whip and cinnamon, for no other reason than personal preference.

Pumpkin Walnut Overnight Oats

Lily and I have been eating this for breakfast quite often lately.  It’s so quick and easy to prepare before I go to bed at night, and even easier to warm up in the microwave in the morning.  We really like ours with vanilla almond milk, but plain milk would work just as well.  With all of the running I’ve been doing lately, this is the perfect breakfast to make when I come home from a 5am run in 35-40 degree weather.  Warms the belly, and re-energizes me!

Well, that’ll do it for the pumpkin recipes!  Since we began Christmas shopping yesterday, pumpkin days are over until next fall.  Now it’s on to Christmas cookies and peppermint mocha flavored creamer.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

