Marshmallow Mondays


I Wish… then & now
12.10.12, 9:27 AM
Filed under: Holidays | Tags: , , ,

It’s that time again.  This year, Rydan wasted no time in putting together his wish book.  This is the fifth year in a row that we’ve done a wish book, and every year he seems to need less and less help from me.  Now, he’s perfectly capable of using the scissors to cut out his “wishes,” and no longer uses too much glue.  When did he grow up???

We’ve saved every wish book he’s ever made, so it’s always a lot of fun to look back at the things he’s wanted each year for Christmas since the age of four.  It also reminds me of all the memories we’ve had together.  I still remember making that very first wish book with him at my apartment in Hershey, PA.   It was a Monday, my usual day off from the wedding world, and Rydan could barely contain his excitement when I told him what we were going to make.  He was already on a sugar high from the cookies we had baked, and I remember him talking my ear off as he pointed to each item in the Toys R Us flyer that he wanted me to cut out.  Check out these photos from 2008 that I found from the day that Rydan and I made his very first wish book at my Hershey apartment.

wishbook2

He will probably hate me one day for posting this, but look at that face!   Typical Rydan.  Love it.

He will probably hate me one day for posting this, but look at that face! Typical Rydan. Love it.

My happy little marshmallow, 4 years old.  Where did the time go?

My happy little marshmallow, 4 years old. Where did the time go?

I still remember this day like it was  yesterday.  I'd gone into my kitchen to get Rydan some milk, and when I came back, this is what he looked like.

I still remember this day like it was yesterday. I’d gone into my kitchen to get Rydan some milk, and when I came back, this is what he looked like.

While I'm reminiscing... this was the day in 2008 that we took Rydan to the mall so that he could show Santa his wish book.  Little did I know on this day

And while I’m reminiscing… this was the day in 2008 that we took Rydan to the mall so that he could show his wish book to Santa.  This was a few days after we’d gotten engaged.  =)

Fast forward to four years later…

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Still smiling, but so grown up!  I love that we’ve had five years of wish books.  And “I wish” to have at least a few more.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

