Marshmallow Mondays


Cookies
12.17.12, 8:21 AM
Filed under: Holidays | Tags: , , ,

One thing I love about the holiday season is baking cookies.  It’s not the cookies themselves that I look forward to, but rather all of the memories that baking always reminds me of.  I have been baking cookies ever since I was old enough to sit on the counter and help my mom mix the batter.  Christmas was always a special time to get together with my cousins, my mom and my aunt to bake dozens upon dozens of cookies.  We’d sing along to Alvin & The Chipmunks Christmas music, and eventually my aunt would chase one of my cousins around the table with her spatula.  Never failed.

Now I have not one but two little helpers of my own, and I can only hope that one day they cherish these times with me the same way that I do with my mom and my aunt.  Rydan is always my taste-tester, while Lily is more interested in the actual baking process.  She’s all about dumping and stirring, but the second I pull the electric mixer out of the pantry, she darts to another room.  When the mixer turns off I always hear her voice in the distance asking “all done?  all done?

This year I tried a few new recipes while still baking all of our favorites.  Below are photos of almost every single kind of cookie I made.  Simply click on the image to be redirected to the recipe.

SONY DSC

Candy Cane Blossoms

Snickerdoodles {Ryan's Favorite}

Snickerdoodles {Ryan’s Favorite}

Banana White Chocolate Chip Oatmeal

Banana White Chocolate Chip Oatmeal {Email me if you’d like this recipe.  I actually made this one up myself, and they are quite tasty!}

Chocolate Pretzel {I didn't use pb chips like the recipe calls for, but it was just personal preference}

Chocolate Pretzel {I didn’t use pb chips like the recipe calls for, but only because I didn’t have any.}

Mint Chocolate {My Favorite, email me if you'd like the recipe}

Mint Chocolate {One of my,  favorites that I’ve been making for years.  Email me if you’d like the recipe because I couldn’t find it online.}

Butterscotch Almond Oatmeal {My Mom's Favorite.  I fill a cookie tin for her every year with just these cookies.}

Butterscotch Almond Oatmeal {My Mom’s Favorite. I fill a cookie tin for her every year with just these cookies. Email me for the recipe.}

Molasses {Another personal favorite for both Ryan and me.}

Molasses {Another personal favorite for both Ryan and me. Email me for the recipe.}

Peppermint Brownies {okay, not a cookie, but I LOVE peppermint, so I had to make these.   After one bite, I knew I'd be adding these to my annual must bake list.}

Peppermint Brownies {okay, not a cookie, but I LOVE peppermint, so I had to make these. After one bite, I knew I’d be adding these to my annual must bake list.}

I end up freezing all of the cookies I bake, which drives my husband crazy because I literally move them from the cooling rack to the freezer and don’t leave us any to enjoy.  Then after I’m all finished, I make up cookie tins to take along to all of our family get-togethers.

This is what it looked like when it came time to distribute into cookie tins.

This is what it looked like when it came time to distribute into cookie tins.

Mom and Aunt Neese... thank you for teaching me how to bake!  And for all of the memories in your kitchens.

Mom and Aunt Neese… thank you for teaching me how to bake! And for all of the memories in your kitchens.

And here is my little mini me, with her chair pushed up against the counter like she does anytime I am in the kitchen.  (Don’t mind the hair.  She had just woken up from a nap.)

Cookies & Milk.  The perfect post-nap snack.

Cookies & Milk. The perfect post-nap snack.

I think she likes them.

Cookie face.

She likes the Snickerdoodles, just like her Daddy.

She likes the Snickerdoodles, just like her Daddy.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Bula, I am patiently waiting for my cookies!!

Comment by val wiest

I really wanted to present this post, “Cookies Marshmallow Mondays” along with my
own buddies on twitter. I actuallyjust desired
to disperse ur outstanding posting! Regards, Elissa

Comment by http://google.com




Leave a Reply

