Marshmallow Mondays


Christmas in Pennsylvania: Part 1
12.24.12, 7:45 AM
Filed under: Holidays | Tags: , , , ,

We have arrived!  After what seemed like an entire day of driving, we arrived in Pennsylvania.  Our usual 8-9 hour drive turned into almost 11 hours after  encountering snow for the majority of our drive.  Even though it wasn’t exactly a pleasant trip, the kids were good sports, and we are just thankful to make it here safely.  We’ve already had a taste of Christmas and have been enjoying visiting lots of friends and family.

On Saturday we woke up and had breakfast with Pappy Buff.  Nana had to work, so we visited with Aunt Neese and Uncle Steve for awhile in the middle of the day.  Rydan and Lily had such a good time at their house, and I absolutely loved being able to sit and have a cup of coffee with my favorite aunt.  The rest of the day was spent at Nana and Pap’s, where we enjoyed dinner, a game of Yahtzee, and Santa’s parade through town.

Yesterday we ventured to Lola’s house to exchange gifts.  She had a huge spread of food prepared for us, complete with shrimp, a cheese tray, miniature hoagies, and all types of other munchies.  Rydan opened up a Ninjago Samurai Set, Trash Pack DS game, and new pajamas, all straight from his wish book.  Lily opened up LOL Elmo, some little plush horses, new pajamas, and her very own pink Radio Flyer Big Wheel.  While the kids played with their new toys, the adults played a few board games which brought on quite a bit of laughs.  That’s the first time in a long time that I’ve been under the same roof with my mom and my little brothers (who are not so little anymore), and I thoroughly enjoyed every second.

SONY DSC

Rydan & Aunt Tori.

SONY DSC

LOL Elmo!

SONY DSC

Ninjago!

The Radio Flyer Big Wheel.

The Radio Flyer Big Wheel.

SONY DSC

“Mom, this was from my wish book too!”

SONY DSC

Love these guys.

We then drove back to Nana’s so that Lily could take a much needed nap.  When she woke up, we joined Pap Wiest and Great-Grandma Wiest for dinner and also got a surprise visit from one of my best high school friends.  She shared some exciting news with us, which made the night even better than it already was.  After that, it was back to Nana’s.  When we arrived, we were greeted by Uncle Brad, Aunt Jill, Cousin Bryar, Aunt Mary and Uncle Larry.  Lily is quite starry-eyed over her cousin Bryar, so she was quite excited to see him.  Everyone sat around the table and just chatted the night away.  To top off the night, my absolute best friend ever, Miss Kimberly Holland, who I haven’t seen since her wedding, stopped by to pay a visit.

Great-Grandma Wiest.

Great-Grandma Wiest.

My favorite moment so far... reading with my little lady and my bff.

My favorite moment so far… reading with my little lady and my bff.

As you can see, we have been B-U-S-Y!  I did manage to make time for a five-mile run yesterday, though.  It’s been a really long time since I’ve been able to run with the mountains in sight, so even though I missed my running ladies back in Kentucky, I had quite the view to enjoy by myself.

Tomorrow morning, Santa comes to Nana’s and Gram and Pap Shaffer’s, so it will be round two AND three of opening gifts.

Nothing makes me happier than seeing my kids smile and laugh, and they’ve definitely been doing a lot of that in the two days that we’ve been here.  Thank you to all of our family and friends for making our visit so special!  We are looking forward to the rest of our Christmas vacation.

Merry Christmas to all of my readers!  Check back next Monday for Part II of our Christmas recap.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

