Marshmallow Mondays


Library Lover
03.11.13, 8:22 AM
Filed under: Things To Do/Places To See | Tags: , , ,

Some days, I feel like all I do is read books.  Lily is quite the little bookworm.  The book basket in her bedroom is overflowing with all sorts of books, and there is an additional basket in the living room that holds even more of her favorites.  I don’t think a day goes by where  I don’t pick up books and put them away.  All that being said, I am not complaining one bit.  I love to read to Lily, and I love to listen to her read to me.  I am always amazed at how quickly she learns the words to a new book, and is reciting them back to me or finishing a sentence before I do.  At bedtime, there are times where I’ve reached book number twelve and she still says, “one more, Mommy.”  And then I find myself reading two or three more.  How can I refuse that sweet little voice?

So obviously, it’s no surprise at all that my little girl loves to go to the library.  Every Thursday we visit Eagle Creek Library for 11am Story Time.  Miss Lowena usually reads three books, and also sings a few songs with the children as well.  It warms my heart to see Lily do the hand movements to each song and sing along.  At the end there is always some sort of craft, which Lily very much looks forward to as well.

After story time, Lily picks out four books to take home.  She is always determined to find a “horsie book,” and knows exactly where to look.

pony

These are three of her favorite “horsie books.”  

cowboy small

HushLittleHorsie

Touch_And_Feel_Ponies_0_large

I chose to share this today for a simple reminder about all of the fun and all of the treasures that lie inside of your local library.  Take advantage!  Library cards are FREE!  Borrowing books is FREE!  Attending story time is FREE!  It’s such a wonderful way to bond with your little one while showing them that there is fun to be had and things to learn when we step away from all of the screens that consume so much of our time on a daily basis.

My  challenge to each and every one of you this week:  if you don’t have a library card, get one.  If you do, take a break from everything else and take your kids to the library.

a

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

