Marshmallow Mondays


Easter Weekend

Half Marathon… CHECK!

I really did it.  On Saturday, I participated in Run The Bluegrass Half Marathon.

The back of my race shirt said it all.

The back of my race shirt said it all.

When I first heard about this race, it was about a year ago, only a couple of months after we had moved to Lexington.  I remember sitting at my computer, trying to find ways that I could better assimilate to this unfamiliar city.  I had decided to sign up for the Race To Read 5K and was researching other local races when I stumbled upon Run The Bluegrass, one of the nation’s prettiest half marathons.  I thought wow, how cool it would be to take part in something like that.  At that very moment, I set a personal goal of running that half marathon in 2013.  If Lexington was going to be my new home…

I began the race with a goal in mind that I knew was reasonably attainable, taking into consideration everything I’ve heard about how difficult this course is.  The rumors were true.  HOLY. HILLS.  Everyone had warned me about mile 9, which seemed like a mountain, but they didn’t warn me about all of the other miles.  Nearly every single mile had a hill attached.  Sometimes all you could hear was the sound of runners trying to catch their breath.

There are no words to describe what it felt like to cross that finish line.  I had injured my calf muscle around mile 5, which made the remaining 9 miles extremely difficult, but somehow I managed to get through it and cross the finish line with a time under two hours.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Because I know I have at least one horse racing fan reading this post (Tori Miller), here’s your bit of horse history for the day.  The medal I received was designed in honor of…

All runners received a complimentary Kentucky Ale after finishing the race.  I am not at all a beer drinker, nor do I really even like the taste of beer, but I have to admit, that Kentucky Ale tasted pretty darn good after my 13.1 miles.

SONY DSC

Onto Easter.  Can you believe this is our SECOND Easter in Kentucky?  Like last year, Rydan and Lily have been receiving lots Easter packages in the mail all week long from friends and family in Pennsylvania.

Easter morning, Lily was first down the stairs.  When she saw the Easter baskets sitting on the couch, she held her hands up in the air and said “What?!”

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Lily wasted no time digging into her favorite treat... pumpkin Hershey Kisses.

Lily wasted no time digging into her favorite treat… pumpkin Hershey Kisses.

SONY DSC

Playing with their slinkies.

After rummaging through their baskets, Rydan said “Well, I didn’t get a bike.”  It was just this past fall that we had told Rydan that he would only get a bike when he proved that he could ride one.  Up until a few months ago, he hadn’t exactly been very willing or interested in learning to ride one.  But, last fall I was outside and he came flying down the lane on a neighbor’s bike (without training wheels) and said “Look Mom, I’m doing it!”  I nearly fell over right then and there.  So, ever since he’s been saying that the Easter Bunny would probably bring him a new bike.  You can imagine his disappointment when there was no bike waiting for him yesterday morning.  Although, I must say, he hid it pretty well.

As Rydan and Lily continued to examine all of their new treats, I snuck upstairs.  As I was coming back down the stairs, I said “Rydan, there’s a reason the Easter Bunny didn’t bring you a bike.”  When he asked what it was, I responded by saying “Because we told him not to.”  Obviously his response was a very confused “why?”  And at that moment I came around the corner holding his brand new blue and green Mongoose bike and said “Because we got you one!”  His eyes lit up immediately, and I snuck back upstairs while he and Lily checked out his new wheels.

SONY DSC

I then came back down for a second time, called out Lily’s name and pushed the new pink Radio Flyer scooter across the floor to her.  She looked at me with a huge smile on her face, squealed with excitement, and hopped right onto the scooter.

SONY DSC

The rest of our day was spent simply relaxing, and then enjoying the sun when it finally decided to come out.  Rydan and Lily were both anxious to take their new rides outdoors.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

We ended our day dying Easter eggs after dinner.  Our eggs definitely won’t win any awards, but we sure did have a good time.   Lily didn’t quite understand the breakable factor of a hard-boiled egg, so that made for quite a few laughs.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

To all of our readers, family and friends, we hope you had a very Happy Easter!  Hugs to all of you.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

