Marshmallow Mondays


I Run For Boston

Congratulations to Orb!  The winner of the 139th running of the Kentucky Derby.

Because of the evening rain, we didn’t take part in any Derby Day festivities like we did last year.  However, I did run the Derby Stakes 5K at Coldstream Park on Saturday morning.  This was a very special and important race, as 100 percent of the race proceeds benefited The One Fund Boston charity to help those most affected by the tragic events that occurred in Boston on April 15th.

$4500 for The One Fund!

$4500 for The One Fund!

I truly have no words for what it felt like to be part of this race.   The running community is filled with such determined men and women who have incredibly strong spirits.  We don’t give up.  We always want to go further and run harder.  We take pride in our achievements.  And with each finish line we cross, that spirit only gets stronger.  We all run for different reasons, whether it’s to be physically fit, to relieve stress, or to simply have some “me time,”  but on Saturday, May 3rd, 2013 at Coldstream Park, each of us ran for Boston.

SONY DSC

Nearly 300 runners came out to show their love and support for this beloved city.  One thing I love about being a runner, is my fellow runners.  Yes, they are competitive, but they also know how to unite with one another, and with other running communities.  There was a true sense of unity as we stood at the starting line together and took a moment of silence for those injured during this year’s Boston Marathon.  And as each of us crossed the finished line with our loved ones cheering us on, I couldn’t help but think of Boston.  Now more than ever, I am so thankful that God has given me the ability to use my legs and run.  I am proud to be part of such a tough community of runners who believe in themselves and believe in each other.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Two of my biggest fans.  I so look forward to seeing their smiling faces and listening to them cheer as I approach the finish line.

Two of my biggest fans. I so look forward to seeing their smiling faces and listening to them cheer as I approach the finish line.

I finished this race with a time of 23:25, and was awarded with first place in my age group (22 females total).  My horse shoe trophy is now the coolest one in my collection,  but it will also forever carry the most meaning.

SONY DSC

Each race participant signed this poster to send to Boston.

Each race participant signed this poster to send to Boston.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Mama is so proud of you Bula!

Comment by val wiest

great job once again bridge, dad

Comment by chris




Leave a Reply

