Marshmallow Mondays


Baseball & a 5K

It was another busy weekend.

On Saturday, Rydan attended a baseball camp with former Major League Baseball player Josh Anderson.  Kids received a lot of instruction on baseball fundamentals from Josh, ate hot dogs for lunch, and also listened to Josh speak about the importance of following Christ.  Rydan seemed to really enjoy himself and told me that he learned how to throw a strike and how to properly swing his bat.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

While Ryan, Rydan and Lily attended baseball camp, I took part in the Secretariat Big Red Run 5K, which was the kickoff to the 6th annual Seceretariat Festival.   The race took place on the beautiful Adena Springs Farm in Paris, KY.  I love doing races that are so unique to Kentucky, and this one was by far one of my favorites.  It doesn’t get much better than running on a magnificent horse farm in celebration of one of the greatest racing horses in history.  This year celebrated the 40th anniversary of Secretariat’s legendary Triple Crown victory.

I finished this race $75 richer as the second female to cross the finish line.  It was a little bittersweet without my biggest fans there to cheer me on, but I was excited to call Ryan and tell him how well I did.  And as much as I loved bringing home that money, what I loved even more was bringing home my super cool medal for Lily.  My little horse lover took one look at it, smiled, and said “for me?!”

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

What a great day.  That’s two more awesome experiences to add to our family bank of Kentucky memories.  I truly do love this state.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Congratulations Bridgit…sounds like you all had a wonderful day!!!

Comment by Annette




Leave a Reply

