Marshmallow Mondays


Thanksgiving Recap

We just enjoyed our second Thanksgiving in Kentucky, and this year we had a visitor from Pennsylvania to celebrate with us.  My dear friend, Lauren, who I’ve known since the age of 16, flew down to spend five days with us and visit Kentucky for the first time.  It was such a treat to have a familiar face spend some time with us and enjoy the holiday.

SONY DSC

Like last year, I spent hours upon hours cooking and baking for our Thanksgiving feast.  Every time I prepare for this meal, I think of my Grandma Wiest, the best cook I’ve ever known.  She is pure perfection in the kitchen.  For the past two years, I’ve tried to prepare many of the same dishes that she has made since I was a little girl.  It truly made my day this year when she called to wish me a Happy Thanksgiving and talk about the dishes that I had cooked.  I know I will never master her recipes, like the way her mashed potatoes melt in your mouth, or the way she manages to cook without making a single mess, but I absolutely love my time in the kitchen because it’s a chance to think about my Grandma put to use all of the things she’s taught me about cooking over the years.  When we talked on the phone on Thursday, I couldn’t help but smile when she asked ME for one of my Christmas cookie recipes.  Maybe, just maybe, her skills have rubbed off on me.

Something new we did this year was our “ABC Thankful Lists.”  Each of us, with the exception of Lily, wrote down an item that we are thankful for next to each letter of the alphabet.  It was a lot of fun sharing our lists at the dinner table, and a great reminder of all the wonderful blessings in our lives.

Our meal would not have been nearly as successful without the help of my wonderful husband, who made sure my counter tops stayed as clear as possible while I cooked, and who also washed every single dish for me after our meal was finished.  I am so thankful for him and for the happiness he brings to our life every single day.

Rydan and Lily also were very helpful  by staying busy with their Thanksgiving crafts while I cooked.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

This was the best family picture we could get.  Typical Rydan – big silly smile, and typical Lily – hiding from the camera.

SONY DSC

Stayed tuned for next week’s post, where we’ll reveal our two Christmas trees!  One of them is decorated with something extra special this year.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

