Marshmallow Mondays


Frigid Fanny 4

It’s been a few months since I last ran a race.  So, when I heard about the “Frigid Fanny Four-Miler,” I decided to sign up.  The name alone got my attention.  Plus, it would be held at the Kentucky Horse Park, which is one of my favorite places in Kentucky.  We’ve visited a few times for different types of events, but never for a race.  I’ve come to really enjoy doing races that have a real Kentucky feel, and this one definitely fit that category.

With snow-covered grounds and 30 degree temperature, this race completely lived up to its name.  If I wasn’t so competitive, I would have stopped to take a few pictures of the horses throughout the course.  They looked absolutely stunning against the snow with their colorful winter blankets draped over their backs.  With their noses hanging over the white fence, they seemed to silently cheer on the runners.   It was a really cool experience, and I was extremely happy to have participated in this race.

Race Start.

Race Start.

Coming up on the Finish Line.

Coming up on the Finish Line.

As always, I have these two cheering kiddos and my awesome, supportive husband waiting for me.  Nothing beats seeing their faces at the end.

As always, I have these two cheering kiddos and my awesome, supportive husband waiting for me, even in “frigid fanny” kind of weather. Nothing beats seeing their faces at the end.

I finished this race as the second overall female, 20th out of 170 participants. Considering my annoying foot injury that just won’t seem to go away, I was pretty happy with my results, especially since my award was a FREE race registration to one of two upcoming races.

SONY DSC

Kudos to 3 Way Racing for organizing this one.  I’ve done quite a few races where 3 Way is involved, and I have never been disappointed or had any complaints.  From a runner’s perspective, 3 Way is everything I expect when I sign up for a race. They are professional, organized, send frequent updates leading up to race-day, have clear communication, and execute an overall fun, smooth, and memorable experience on race-day.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I was chasing you for quite awhile! I think it was your children that I overheard right before the finish saying “I don’t think these people ran all 4 miles” or something like that. Made this old lady feel REALLY fast! Thanks!
Linda Word
3rd place overall right behind YOU!

Comment by Linda Word




Leave a Reply

