Marshmallow Mondays


Louisville & Easter

We hope all of our readers had a wonderful Easter!  Our holiday weekend kicked off on Friday with an overnight trip to Louisville, so that I could run the Kentucky Derby Festival Half Marathon on Saturday morning.

Race morning weather was absolutely perfect.  It was really a sight to see as we walked from our hotel to the Starting Line.  Runners flooded each side of the streets.  I was shoulder to shoulder with other runners as I made my way to Coral A.  I love waiting for a race to begin, almost as much as I love crossing the Finish Line.  Completing this race would earn me my “Kentucky Classic” medal, a first-time special medal for anyone who was a finisher of the RunTheBluegrass Half Marathon, which I completed on March 29th, and the Kentucky Derby Festival Half Marathon.  I’d never done two half marathons within 22 days, so this was an opportunity to challenge myself and be part of something really rewarding, unique to Kentucky, and special.

7:15am.  Runners heading towards the Starting Line.

7:15am. Runners heading towards the Starting Line.

and they're off!

and they’re off!

Participation in this race was huge.  I can now say that I’ve run with 18,000 other runners, and it was an awesome experience.  Spectators literally lined the sidewalks of the entire course.  I felt like I was part of a parade.  People were cheering, clapping, holding hand-made signs, dancing to music, shouting words of encouragement, and seemed to be having such a genuinely good time.

The course consisted of 13.1 miles through downtown Louisville, which took runners past attractions such as The Louisville Slugger Museum, Central Park, and numerous other attractions.  The highlight of the course for me was entering Church Hill Downs and running through the tunnel used by race horses to enter the track.  Runners did a lap around the infield and then exited through another tunnel.  This was so cool!

With so many runners and spectators, I wasn’t sure if Ryan and the kids would be able to see me finish, but as always, they made their way to the Finish Line and snapped some photos of my finishing moment.

Approaching the Finish Line.

Approaching the Finish Line.

This was literally a few steps before the Finish Line, and my foot had been giving me so much pain throughout the last mile.  I remember closing my eyes and saying a quick prayer of thanks that I'd made it.

This was literally a few steps before the Finish Line, and my foot had been giving me so much pain throughout the last mile. I remember closing my eyes and saying a quick prayer of thanks that I’d made it to the end.  Unknowingly, Ryan managed to capture that moment.

My new "bling."  So worth it.

My new “bling.” So worth it.

I have to say that I got a little tear-eyed when the first Derby medal was placed around my neck.  This was a big accomplishment for me, especially considering the stress fracture I’ve been fighting for months, and the fact that my podiatrist told me I wouldn’t be able to run in RunTheBluegrass, let alone a second half marathon just 22 days later.  I am definitely paying for it today, but earning three medals in such a short period of time was well worth the pain.  Now, I rest.

We arrived back in Lexington just after lunch on Saturday, and I realized that I still hadn’t done any grocery shopping for Easter dinner.  So, off to Kroger I went with Lily to buy our Easter ham and sides.  “Crazy” doesn’t cover what it was like shopping a day before Easter, but we got what we needed, came home, and went to church that evening for Easter service.  Upon coming home from church, and getting the kids to bed, I pulled out the Easter gifts I’d gotten for the kids and realized I barely had anything to put in their baskets.  By this point, I was exhausted and my foot was pounding, so Ryan ventured to Target and finished up shopping for the kids.  Thanks to him, the Easter baskets were full on Sunday morning.

Rydan got a new lego set, a “Ryback” WWE action figure, new shirts, a WWE hooded sweatshirt, new socks, and two new books.  Lily got a baby Cabbage Patch doll, two new books, a Doc McStuffins yo-yo, and a Barbie purse/cell phone.

SONY DSC

Lily signs out a "Llama Llama" book every week at the library, so the Easter Bunny brought her a stuffed Llama Llama and one of the books.  Enjoying story time with her big brother.

Lily signs out a “Llama Llama” book every week at the library, so the Easter Bunny brought her a stuffed Llama Llama and one of the books. Enjoying story time with her big brother.

We spent Easter morning cooking, and enjoyed ham, sweet potatoes, corn on the cob, cauliflower and a berry trifle dessert for lunch.  It was nice to spend our first holiday together in our new home with no place to go.  The kids both played outside for the afternoon, and after such a busy time in Louisville, we were okay with being a little lazy.

Taking a spin on Rydan's old Harley.  Hard to believe this thing still runs, but Lily loves it.

Taking a spin on Rydan’s old Harley. Hard to believe this thing still runs, but Lily loves it.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

