Marshmallow Mondays


Halloween 2014

Readers, I have not forgotten about you.  I know I’ve missed two weeks in a row of Monday posts, and I am so sorry!  This is the first time I have neglected my blog in five years, but hopefully you all understand and know that there’s been a really good reason for my absence.  (And in case some of you don’t know, please refer to my last post on October 13th.)

I will be honest, I didn’t even think about the first post I missed, which was two Mondays ago.  That’s the day that Ryan was discharged from the hospital after his transplant.  It wasn’t until Tuesday afternoon when I realized I hadn’t written anything.  Ironically, the following Monday (10/27), was the day that Ryan was re-admitted to the hospital for dehydration.  We’ve had some ups and downs throughout the week, but he did come back home last Wednesday.

Today, I am happy to report that Ryan is doing very well.  We are back in Cincinnati today for another check up, so please visit our Match For Ryan Facebook page later today for a report on the appointment.

Now, as you can imagine, life has been very full since Ryan’s surgery.  I hesitate to say that it’s been crazy or chaotic, because even though it feels like we are in a tornado some days, our hearts are filled with gratitude for the gift that Ryan has received.  As he continues to recover, I appreciate your patience with my blog.  I can’t promise that I will have a new post every Monday between now and the next few weeks, but I will definitely do my best.  We literally are taking one day at a time, and some days are filled with unexpected bumps in the road.  This recovery period is simply a phase we have to fight through, but Ryan is well on his way to a new life filled with good health.  We’ve learned to take each day as it comes and deal with each obstacle with patience while trusting in God’s plan.

Friday was one of those days.  An unexpected kidney biopsy left us feeling very discouraged, but as the day went on and little blessings fell around us, we realized that there was no need to become overly discouraged with something so out of our control. Our transplant team continues to take extreme care and caution to ensure that Ryan’s new organs are protected, and for that we are ever so thankful.  Because they know we have two little ones who were eager to go trick-or-treating, they made sure to get us out of the hospital so that we could make it home in time for Halloween.

It was extremely cold and rainy, so I carried my little witch with my zombie following close by, and we made a very quick loop around the neighborhood.  We returned home shivering, but with full bags of candy.  Mission accomplished.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

