Marshmallow Mondays


Christmas Cookies
12.15.14, 7:03 AM
Filed under: Holidays | Tags: , ,

It’s my annual holiday cookie post! I’ve been baking like crazy this past week, and today I’m sharing all of this year’s recipes. As usual, many of these are favorites that I make every year, but I always add at least one new kind to try. For the recipes I use, simply click on each cookie picture.

MAGICAL MINT KISS COOKIES.

SONY DSC

These are a personal favorite. It’s basically chocolate dough wrapped around a Hershey’s Mint Truffle Kiss. The fun part about these is that the Mint Kisses have a green truffle filling, so when you bite into them you find a gooey mint green surprise.  The recipe you see when you click on the picture calls for Hershey’s Mint Kisses, but if you want the green filling make sure to buy the mint TRUFFLES. I also like to give mine just a dusting of powdered sugar rather than rolling the entire cookie in sugar.

One tip that you’ll thank me for – place the dough in the refrigerator for an hour before wrapping it around the Kisses. Otherwise, you’ll have one sticky, frustrating mess.

~*~*~*~

HERSHEY KISS BLOSSOMS.

SONY DSC

These are slightly different than the classic Kiss Blossoms because I like to use the Hershey’s Mini Kisses. The advantage to using these is that the Kisses are unwrapped, so it saves some time.

~*~*~*~

MOLASSES COOKIES.

SONY DSC

These are my favorite to pair with coffee.

~*~*~*~

PEANUT BUTTER CUP BLOSSOMS.

SONY DSC

Just like Hershey Kiss Blossoms (same recipe), but with PB Cups.

~*~*~*~

SNICKERDOODLES.

SONY DSC

These are Ryan’s favorite, so much so that I had to make a second batch this year because the first batch never made it into the gift tins.

~*~*~*~

CHOCOLATE CHIP.

SONY DSC

I have tried A LOT of recipes for chocolate chip cookies over the years. It’s the only cookie that I’ve never been completely satisfied with because they always end up paper thin, weirdly shaped, or too hard. I am proud to say that this year, I have found the recipe that I will use from now on. Not too soft or too hard, and definitely not paper thin, these turned out p-e-r-f-e-c-t.  I will add that I like to use regular chocolate chips (not semi-sweet like the recipe calls for), but that’s just personal preference.

~*~*~*~

ANDES CREME DE MENTHE CHUNK COOKIES.

SONY DSC

This is the new cookie I tried this year, and it likely will become one of my Christmas time regulars. I’m a big fan of anything chocolate-mint flavored, which is why the Magical Mint Cookies are one of my favorites. These cookies have that same refreshing, cool mint flavor, and they’re nice and chewy.

~*~*~*~

My favorite part is always assembling the cookies into Christmas tins.  Look how pretty and festive!

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

