Marshmallow Mondays


Winter In Kentucky
02.02.15, 11:27 AM
Filed under: The Buffington Southern Experience | Tags: ,

Six more weeks of winter according to Punxsutawney Phil.  I don’t know how accurate this little guy is, but I have to admit that I don’t exactly miss the mounds of snow that fall in Pennsylvania. It does snow in Kentucky, but rarely do we get any accumulation. If we do, it doesn’t stick around very long, just long enough to enjoy. About a week ago, we had a few inches, enough to get the kids excited.

So, in honor of Punxsutawney Phil’s prediction, I thought I would share some pretty winter photos, proving to all of our Pennsylvania friends and family that it really does snow in Kentucky.

This first one was taken two Friday’s ago, which just so happened to be the first real date that Ryan and I were on in over a year. We enjoyed dinner at Bonefish Grill and then snapped this photo outside as the snow began to fall. The snowflakes were huge, so it made for a really peaceful, beautiful evening.

snow

The next morning, Brooks had me up early, so I put on my boots and had some fun with him in the backyard while everyone else was sleeping. He absolutely loved playing and running around in the snow.

IMG_2989

IMG_2996

IMG_2992

IMG_3002

Later that morning, I enjoyed a beautiful snowy 7-mile run, and then spent what felt like an eternity getting the kids dressed so that they could go play outside. Rydan ended up down the street with his friend, Carson, and Lily helped Ryan shovel our driveway.

IMG_3005

IMG_3011

All of that is now melted, but as I sit here typing this, I am enjoying watching snowflakes swirl around outside in the bitter cold air. It’s nothing that is coating the ground, but it still looks like a winter snow globe. Kentucky is indeed beautiful.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

