Marshmallow Mondays


Lost & Found
08.24.15, 8:34 AM
Filed under: The Buffington Southern Experience | Tags: , ,

This post is overdue, but having thought that these photos were lost forever, I think it’s worth sharing.

As you all know, last month we went on vacation to Florida. We flew out of Louisville, and had decided to take the kids to the Louisville Zoo the day before our flight and then spend the night in a hotel close to the airport. We had a great time at the zoo, departed for Florida the next day, and were anxious to begin our vacation. We had one layover in Atlanta, which went smoothly, but when we arrived in Florida we realized we didn’t have our camera. It had made it to the zoo, where we took a ton of pictures, and I could remember going through security with it in Louisville, but beyond that, I had no memory of carrying it onto the plane. My best guess was that I had left it underneath my seat at the gate.

As we got into our rental car in Florida, I quickly called the Louisville airport to see if anyone had found it. After being transferred three different times, I was told that they had found our camera, and that we could pick it up on our return trip home in five days. Whew!

So, on Friday we arrived back in Louisville, and I went to Delta to pick up our camera. The lady I spoke to instantly knew who I was and was excited to return our lost item to us. She disappeared for only a minute and returned, smiling with a camera bag in her hand. The only problem was… it wasn’t our camera. I was devastated. Not only was this an expensive camera, but it held our memory card with all of our zoo pictures, which were now gone. I was shuffled around to various places in the airport to see if anyone else had found it, but no luck. We drove back to Lexington without our camera and without our photos. On the drive home, I filled out a Lost & Found form on Delta’s website, but had little hope that anything would come from it.

A week passed by, and I received an email from Delta saying that they had not yet found our camera. They would continue to search, but if it wasn’t found within another week, they would close the case. And that was that. We assumed that someone had stolen our camera, stolen memories that didn’t belong to them, and would replace those memories with their own.

After another week, I received a second email. Before reading it, I immediately assumed it was Delta notifying me that they were closing our case and no longer searching for our camera. To my pleasant surprise, the email read “We have located your lost item. Please follow the link below with instructions on how to retrieve your item.” At first I was slightly hesitant, but there was a sentence that read “We have verified that this lost item is indeed yours.” I followed the link, paid $30 to have it shipped overnight, and hoped for the best. The FedEx shipping notification came a few minutes later.

The next morning, FedEx delivered a box to our porch. Still hesitant, I opened the box with crossed fingers and nearly jumped out of my skin when I saw it was indeed our camera bag. I unzipped it, checked for the memory card, took a picture to make sure it still worked, and quickly texted Ryan to let him know that they had found our camera.

Thank you, Delta, for returning our camera, and these photos to us…

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

